Posted in Food, Holidays & Birthday

I’d Like “Sa-moa” of Those Please

Like a lot of kids, I wasn’t a fan of nuts or coconut when I was a kid.  And of course, as my daughter states, “Mom, fruit in a dessert is NOT a dessert”, I didn’t really care for fruit filled desserts.  Although I wouldn’t turn them down, they certainly weren’t my first choice.  (I could suck down three or four Hostess fruit pies, but are those even real fruit?!?)  Well, and like a lot of things, my attitude towards many foods have changed over the years and I am now, indeed, a fan of all of those things and then some.

My favorite Girl Scout cookies were thin mints, samoas and tag-a-longs.  But as I grew older, I found myself just wanting the samoas.  The buttery, chewy caramel with just the right amount of chocolate and coconut, so yummy.  A couple weeks ago when I was searching Pinterest, a pin for Samoa truffles showed up on my feed.  I thought, hmmm, those look delicious!

A few days ago I compiled a Christmas baking list and the Samoa truffles definitely made the cut.  I mentioned I was making them and my mother said, “oh, the Girl Scouts gave away their recipe did they?”  After tasting these I’m beginning to think they may have!

Here’s the recipe: Samoa Truffles from shugarysweets

 

The only difference, I couldn’t find the dulce de leche so I used jarred Smucker’s salted caramel. The samoas did spread some and were very soft but they were still delicious and I would make them again in a heartbeat with or without it!!  I just simply kept them in the fridge.  I have since found the brand she recommends using at our local grocery store in the Mexican Food aisle.

If you like samoas, I would suggest giving these a go.  They really do taste just like a samoa.  Such buttery goodness!

xoxo

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

