Zucchini Bars…anyone?!

I’ve really been concentrating on my weight loss lately.  Trying NOT to indulge in baking all the yummy things I enjoy, but the ole Waffle Blog is suffering – it’s just too quiet over here!!

This past Thursday, we drove to Shipshewana, Indiana.  Just for a mini getaway before my mother arrives.  We didn’t really “do” much, just saw the sites and walked around the town…oh, and of course, ate.

For one early dinner, we visited the Blue Gate Restaurant and had their buffet.  It was good, I’d give it a B- as I thought it needed more vegetables but the taste was good.  It was the standard hometown fare – fried & baked chicken, mac & cheese, you know the drill.  I should have stopped at the salad and the baked chicken, but nope…I just had to try the desserts!

All that I tasted were good, but there was one in particular that I enjoyed more than the others.  It had chocolate chips sprinkled on the top and it wasn’t super sweet like the other cakes and it had green “things” in it.  My first thought was – zucchini cake although to my knowledge I’ve never had zucchini cake before.  I asked the waiter and after checking with the kitchen staff, he claimed it was zucchini bars!  They were delicious!!  Of course, ever since I ate it, I’ve been on the hunt for THIS particular recipe…chocolate chips on top, no frosting, mild spice flavor like cinnamon, zucchini bars or zucchini cake.  So far I’ve found one with the chocolate chips on top, but it was made with Bisquick.  I’m going to take a guess that that ain’t it.

This week, I WILL be baking SOMETHING with zucchini in it, so be on the look out for it!  And if anyone may have a recipe for zucchini bars that sound like the one I had in Shipshawana, please, please let me know!

In preparation for my mother’s arrival this evening, I’ll be making some creamy chicken soup and some pull apart pumpkin bread that I found on Pinterest.  Be on the lookout for an update to this post as well!

Have a great day everyone!

xoxo

Well – the layzies set in.  I cooked dinner, but I didn’t make the pull apart pumpkin bread.  Of course, as soon as my mother walked into the kitchen, “Did you make dessert?”  LOL  Uh, no…I didn’t, but here’s a pork chop.  I did make some Creamy Chicken Soup though!  I followed a recipe from @cj_losingit on Instagram!  It’s delicious and SO easy!

Here’s my version:

Creamy Chicken Soup
10 servings about 287 calories per serving

2 (32 oz.) boxes chicken broth (I use Swanson’s)
chicken bouillon
1 Family Size Healthy Request Fat Free Cream of Chicken
1 (12 oz.) can 2% or fat free evaporated milk
Chopped or sliced – onion, celery and carrots
1 (8 oz.) pkg. wide egg noodles (I started using Inn Maid)
3 trimmed chicken breasts, meat only
1/2 c. frozen peas, optional
salt, pepper, parsley

Boil the chicken in the broth.  Add bouillon if desired for a stronger chicken flavor.  Add vegetables and allow to cook until vegetables are tender and chicken is done and pull-apart-able.  Remove the chicken from the broth and pull apart, add it back to the broth.  Add the cream of chicken soup and evaporated milk, stir to combine.  Then dump in the whole bag of egg noodles.  All those to cook until done.  Add peas and any seasonings you may want and allow to cook until peas are cooked.  Serve and enjoy!  

I love this soup and so does my family!  It’s so easy!

Have a great one!

xoxo

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

| a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

