Posted in Food

Banana Bread

As usual I was on the hunt for something to make with these “close-to-being-trash” bananas.  Perusing the Internet, I came across this recipe for Cinnamon Crumb Banana Bread.

I absolutely LOVE crumb toppings, especially when they’re as buttery as this one!  And this bread was really delicious!  Moist, good flavor and buttery crumbly topping to boot!  Oh yeah!

This is my version of the recipe.

img_6073

Banana Bread

1 egg
1 c. sugar
1/2 c. butter
1 T. vanilla
1/2 c. buttermilk (I didn’t have buttermilk so I used 1/2 c. milk and 2 t. lemon juice and allowed it to sit for 10 minutes)
3 overripe bananas, mashed
2 c. all purpose flour
1/2 t. salt
1/2 t. baking soda
1 t. baking powder
1 t. cinnamon (I don’t measure spices, but I’m sure I put close to a tablespoon in there!)

Crumb Topping
1/2 c. powdered sugar
1/2 c. all purpose flour
4 T. butter, melted
1/2 t. cinnamon
pinch of salt

Preheat oven to 350*.  In a large bowl beat together the sugar, egg and vanilla until combined.  Add the butter and beat until smooth and the butter is fully incorporated.  Beat in the buttermilk and the bananas.  

In another bowl, mix together the flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon.  Slowly stir the dry ingredients into the wet until all the flour is incorporated.  

Spray a loaf pan with non stick spray and pour in the batter.  

Make the crumb topping by combining the powered sugar, flour, cinnamon, salt and melted butter.  Using your hands, crumble the mixture over the batter in the pan.  

Bake 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

img_6075

I totally recommend this recipe if you find yourself staring at soon to be rotting bananas!

Have a great Wednesday everyone!

xoxo

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

3 thoughts on “Banana Bread

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

