Happy Halloween – FINALLY!

It feels like this day has been “around the corner” forever, but it’s taken a really long time to arrive!  It’s finally here and – I’m tired.  LOL  Literally, I am so sleepy.  I thought I’d slept well when I woke up, but now I feel like never reached that deep sleep that rejuvenates you.  Probably because I drank three glasses of wine yesterday – which is WAY past my limit.  But yesterday was a good day and thankfully it was a beautiful day.  The better half and I went on a photo drive, I had good conversations with the kids, we went on a bike ride and watched the youngest walk for a good cause at the middle school, baked some too sweet cookies, three of us watched a family friendly movie, I certainly have no reason to complain.  Other than it’s a little more difficult to corral the four of us together now, with homework, friends, just lack of interest, sleep, etc., many things take precedence now.  I’m not thrilled about it, but that’s just the way life works.

DSC_6440.jpg

Sodalis Nature Park, Plainfield, IN

DSCN1783.JPG

NJHS Walk-A-Thon

IMG_6346.JPG

Toffee Butterscotch Cookies (Yikes!  WAY too much sugar here!)

And now it’s onto Halloween, they both have costumes and they’ve both worn them to parties already.  I asked if they were going trick or treating tonight and they both hemmed and hawed and said probably not.  So this could be it…the last hurrah.  How quickly time flies and they grow out of the good stuff.  Time to make new traditions, I suppose.  We drove to an orchard this fall, but didn’t pick pumpkins or apples or anything, we didn’t even buy one from the store and carve it this year!  They talked about handing out the candy or maybe even going out with friends, but I don’t know, I suppose we’ll see.  It’s all kinda sad if you think about it…

But not to dwell on the getting older thing for too long – this weekend a recipe for Skillet Spaghetti and Meatballs came across my Facebook page.  And it just so happened that I had thawed out some ground turkey this weekend…so with that recipe in mind, this morning I threw these meatballs together and tonight we’ll be having some Skillet Spaghetti and Turkey Meatballs for Halloween dinner!

IMG_6356.jpg

IMG_6358.JPG

Italian Turkey Meatballs

3 lbs. lean ground turkey
1 ½ c. Italian bread crumbs
½ c. grated parmesan
¼ c. parsley
¼ c. milk
¼ c. ketchup
2 large eggs
2 T. minced garlic
1 small-medium onion, chopped
salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400*. In a large bowl, combine all ingredients and use fingers to combine ingredients. Roll or using a cookie scoop make into 1 ½” balls. Place on a nonstick baking sheet and bake about 10 minutes.  Makes approximately 60 1 1/2″ meatballs.

I hope everyone has a safe and fun Halloween!  And try not to eat too much of that cursed Halloween candy!

xoxo

 

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

| a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

