“It Tastes Like Starbucks Mom!”

I would love for everyone to believe that I’m a culinary genius!  That creations in the kitchen come natural to me, that I never have to look at a cookbook or a recipe, that I can come up with something new on a whim because it sounded delicious in my head.

Unfortunately, that couldn’t be further from accurate.  I’ve said it before and I believe it to be the truth, “if you can read, you can cook”, this recipe is one of those recipes that make me deliriously happy that I can read!!  And once I tasted the frosting I was overjoyed cuz I knew – it was gonna be good!

IMG_5942.JPG

We invited the in-laws over this weekend since both their birthdays are this week.  I had not a clue what to make, usually these things take some prep work, but all this was decided in less than two hours.

Ever since we went to Bob Evans a couple weeks ago and the better half had their pumpkin bread, I’ve been wanting to try to replicate it.  The fact that it’s “spicy” and so moist like cake is what make me want to make my own!  As usual I started my search online and found this recipe.  I followed it pretty closely to make the bread.  It definitely lived up to her claim that it was “…virtually identical to the pumpkin bread that Bob Evans Restaurants sell…”!  I only had a very small bite of the bread at Bob Evans, but this one I just couldn’t resist!

IMG_5940.JPG

Pumpkin Bread – Bob Evan’s Copycat Recipe

1 29 oz. can pumpkin puree 
1/2 c. vegetable oil
2 2/3 c. white sugar
4 eggs
3 c. all purpose flour
1 1/2 T. baking powder
2 T. all purpose flour
2 t. baking soda
1 t. salt
2 t. ground cinnamon
nutmeg
1/2 t. ground cloves

Preheat the oven to 350*.  Grease and flour two 9 x 5″ loaf pans.  In a large bowl, mix together the pumpkin, oil, sugar and eggs.  Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves*; stir into the pumpkin mixture until well blended.  Divide the batter evenly between the prepared pans.  Bake in the preheated oven for 55-60 minutes.  A toothpick inserted in middle of the bread should come out clean.

*I didn’t measure the cinnamon/nutmeg or cloves.  I just threw some in until I felt like it was enough – I’m probably a little more heavy handed with the “spices” but measuring may be the way to go for you.  I also did NOT flour the pans and they came out just fine (I used nonstick loaf pans.)

I purchased the Better Homes and Gardens 100 Best Pumpkin Recipes magazine a couple months ago and inside was a recipe for Cocoa-Frosted Pumpkin Bread.  For my bread, since I was serving it as a dessert, I decided to use the frosting recipe and I’m so, so glad I did!  Wow!  It was absolutely delicious!!  This was definitely one of the best desserts I’ve ever made and everyone loved it!  It would have been terrific with a cup of coffee!  My youngest daughter said – more than once – that it was like something you’d buy at Starbucks!  And THAT, coming from her, is quite a compliment!

Cocoa-Spice Frosting

3 T. softened butter
2 c. powdered sugar
2 T. unsweetened cocoa powder
1 T. milk
1/2 t. ground cinnamon
1/2 t. instant espresso coffee powder
1/2 t. vanilla

In a small bowl, beat the butter with a mixer on medium for 30 seconds.  Beat in 1 c. powdered sugar then add the rest of the ingredients and beat until mixed.  Then add the additional 1 cup of powdered sugar, and 1 t. milk at a time until it reaches desired spreading consistency.

*My kitchen is always so hot if the oven is on that everything that includes butter turns to soup.  I threw on the frosting and had to transfer it immediately to the fridge.  I also think I frosted it before the bread was cooled, which of course didn’t help!  But no fear, because the taste took center stage!

IMG_5948.jpg

If you like pumpkin bread and especially Bob Evan’s pumpkin bread, I would give this recipe a try.  My guess is, you’ll make it again and again both with and without the frosting!

Have a great week!

xoxo

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

