A Touch of Oktoberfest

Seems I didn’t quite make it here as I was hoping to!  I have been wide open all week – over extending myself to the point of basically being a nervous wreck and forgetting things.  The one benefit to running around like a crazy person is I’m sleeping through the night!  I’m exhausted, mentally and physically!

Aside from making sure the house is put together, laundry is done, dinner is made and the kids are where they are supposed to be, I’ve had to plan for my youngest daughter’s class trip and her birthday, both of which are this week.  Not to mention, trying to keep up with Hurricane Matthew’s whereabouts, since many friends and family live in the affected areas.  It’s been a busy week.

It’s FALL and I’m supposed to be enjoying this!  Yesterday I jumped in my car after being at the store and the temperature read 91*!  What?!?  Mother Nature is really going against the grain here.  She’s mad at someone!

2016-10-11 10.01.29.jpg

I made a new recipe last night that wasn’t too bad.  We really enjoyed the flavors.  I’d never heard of it until I came across it in a cookbook I’ve been working my way through.  It sounded good and fit the German/Oktoberfest theme, so I took a chance.  I do wish I had done a little research on this dish before making it, as I really didn’t know what I was doing.  After looking at other versions of the recipe, I now know how to make the roll work.  I would suggest if you make this to check out other recipes to see how the pickles, bacon and onions are cut and laid on the beef.  This was where I had the most problem.  Oh and make sure when you tell your butcher to slice the beef horizontally, they know the difference…mine didn’t.

20161007_143926.jpg

Rouladen
Serves 8-10

This recipe comes from the cookbook Well Seasoned c. 1982, Mrs. Joseph I. McCormack from a German friend visiting in the states.

2 1/2 lbs. top round steak, sliced horizontally 1/8″ thick
salt & pepper
1 6 oz. jar brown mustard (I used dijon)
3 large sour pickles, sliced lengthwise (I used dill sandwich slices)
4-5 strips bacon, cut in 2″ lengths
1 large onion, finely chopped*
1/4 c. oil
water

Lay out meat slices.  Salt, pepper and spread each slice with mustard.  Alternate strips of bacon and pickles on each slice.  Sprinkle onion on each slice.  Beginning with large end, roll each strip of meat and secure with toothpick.  Brown on all sides in oil.  Place meat in 9 x 13″ casserole and bake at 350* for 10 minutes.  Add 1 cup water to casserole, cover and continue cooking for one hour.  Remove from oven and reserve meat juices.

Sauce:
1 c. cold water
1 t. cornstarch
2-3 T. mustard
3-4 T. sour cream

Combine cornstarch and water.  In saucepan, heat cornstarch mixture, meat juices and remaining ingredients.  Boil one minute until thick.  Serve over meat. 

20161007_162653.jpg

I served this with creamed new potatoes sans peas and these Easy Ranch Baby Carrots.

Happy Oktoberfest!

xoxo

 

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

| a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

