Love (and the Smell of Chili) is in the Air

20161001_152633

The fall is upon us, oranges and browns abound!  As usual, I should be doing something else other than sitting here, but it’s been a few days and I always miss writing.  I decided that I was going to “try” to do something “autumn-ish” every day of October.  Notice I use the word “try”.  Here’s my bucket list of things I’d like to do this month, there are 32 choices just in case.

My October Bucket List

  • Visit a pumpkin patch
  • Make s’mores
  • Decorate for Halloween
  • Pick apples at an orchard
  • Make pumpkin bread
  • Watch a scary movie
  • Visit a Farmers Market
  • Go on a hayride
  • Dress up for Halloween
  • Bring holiday coffee or seasonal dessert to a friend
  • Make popcorn balls
  • Make chili
  • Press leaves
  • Carve pumpkins
  • Go on a nature walk
  • Collect pinecones
  • Paint a gourd
  • Bob for apples
  • Do a leaf rubbing
  • Go on a picnic
  • Plant bulbs
  • Make soup
  • Trick or Treat
  • Cuddle by a fire
  • Make caramel apples
  • Take a scenic drive
  • Bake a pie
  • Go to a Fall Festival
  • Make a hot toddy
  • Make a pumpkin spice latte
  • Make apple crisp
  • Visit a cemetery

To start the month out right, the BH and I went to an apple orchard to pick up some persimmon pulp so I could make him and his co-workers some persimmon pudding.  One thing about the persimmon pudding recipe that I’ve made repeatedly over the last few years is it has A LOT of butter in it!

After making 2 pans of the recipe, as the recipe I normally follow calls for, I decided to make another pan with less butter.  Of course, the pan with less butter doesn’t look as “greasy” and (dare I say cuz the word is just gross) “moist”, but I haven’t tried it so I don’t know how it will compare.  The BH mentioned he’d like it less “slick” and more cakey, but I mean…it IS supposed to be “pudding”.  I figure I’ll get the low down once he tries it and I’ll throw an update here, just on the chance that you may like it a little less greasy too.  *Update: He said he liked it with less butter, so there ya go now you know.  Less butter works too!

orchard.png

Saturday the BH mentioned that he’d been thinking about how good a pot of chili would taste!  Hmmm, well it’s not really cold, but what the heck it’s on the bucket list, why not!  We stopped at the meat market and picked up some ground beef, came home and I whipped it up in less than 20 minutes!  I didn’t have much choice, since I was running taxi service for my oldest and her BF who was spending the night.  The BH had 2 bowls and couldn’t stop talking about how good it was.  That’s when cooking actually makes you feel like you’ve actually done something!  Crazy thing was, I didn’t have to do anything magical, just threw it all in a cast iron pot and let it cook for about 45 minutes!  If you’re interested in some easy meaty chili that tastes pretty good, here’s my recipe!

20161001_184022

More to come soon!

xoxo

One response

  1. […] of the items on my October Bucket List was to make s’mores.  We’re not really one of those families that sit by the bonfire […]

    Like

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

| a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

