That’s Not Pizza!

Ever since reading about cauliflower pizza crust, I’ve wanted to try it.  But certainly, in no way shape or form do I know ANYONE that would be on board with a vegetable crust!  Because, as I heard after I made it – more than once – “That’s NOT pizza!”  Finally yesterday, since I wasn’t up to much else and had all the ingredients, I decided to tackle it.

I did make “real” homemade pizza dough for the BH and the girls, simply to keep the peace.

Cauliflower Pizza Crust
Adapted from Damn Delicious

1 head cauliflower, chopped and steamed in microwave until soft about 10 minutes

2 large eggs

1 T. whole wheat flour

1/2 c. fat free shredded mozzarella cheese

2 T. grated Parmesan

1 T. Italian Herbs (from the refrigerated section)

salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425*.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, set aside.  Put steamed cauliflower into a food processor until finely ground, it should make approximate 2-3 cups. Using a clean dish towel, drain cauliflower completely, removing as much water as you can.  Mix cauliflower with eggs, cheeses, flour and Italian herbs then season with salt & pepper.  Spread the mixture into a 15 x 10″ baking sheet, spray with Pam and bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.

I baked the crust for approximately 25 minutes until I thought it looked “done”.

20160926_143658.jpg

It looks exactly like pizza crust!

Then I put on the toppings:

Newman’s Own organic marinara
Spinach
Tomatoes
Mushrooms
Black olives
Onions
Peppers
Canadian bacon
Shredded parmesan
Shredded mozzarella (fat free)
cojito cheese
goat cheese crumbles
Italian spices

I baked it for another 15-20 minutes, cut it into 18 squares and dug in!

20160926_152410.jpg

I really enjoyed this, it had a great flavor – I even ate it for lunch today, albeit with a knife and fork.

My only complaint, it was super soggy after it sat a while.  (Say that 5 times fast!)  The BH tasted it and said “eh, it’s ok.”  The youngest tried just the crust and said she liked it (she thought it was bread and I didn’t bother to tell her any different)  I would make this again, and maybe change the toppings see if it helps the sogginess some.

Hope everyone has a terrific Tuesday!

xoxo

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

