Posted in Food

“Do You Have Any Yellow Mustard?”

Oye, what a weekend.  I won’t bore you with all the monotonous details but somehow I hurt my back.  Basically my entire weekend was spent in bed or on the couch.  Saturday, I managed to be verticle long enough to watch both soccer games, but crashed super hard afterwards.  That’s what I get for taking a mild muscle relaxer, with me, there is no mild, they all knock me out.  

We ordered Chinese take out and waited with great angst for S’s date to arrive.  Once he did, we took time to take a few photos and off they went to the dance, sweaty palms, stomach butterflies and all!  They had a reservation at Bonefish, but they were too nervous to eat much and settled for an appetizer and dessert.  Although I was asleep when she arrived home, the next morning I was full of questions.  Thankfully, all reports were good and the dance went well!  

Sunday I managed the grocery store and Ollie’s, and for some reason during our travels, the better half got himself a hankerin’ for White Castle’s.  Since my defenses were extremely low, I too succumbed – bad, bad move.  Leftover Chinese and White Castle’s were Sunday’s menu in it’s entirety – bad, bad move.  

You know, I am NOT a White Castle girl at all.  I am a Krystal girl.  There is nothing that compares to a bag of warm Krystal’s.  Not even a bag of warm White Castle’s.  I know there’s a ton of dispute over this and I’ve done my research.  I know which one came first and I’ve read why people think the way the do.  I do tend to agree that you usually like the one you grew up eating best.  I never had a White Castle that I can remember until I actually moved here to Indiana.  Visiting family and living in the South, I’ve always been a Krystal girl.  And really, the only difference I find noticeable is the addition of mustard to the Krystal’s.  I’m not even that big of a fan of mustard, but it adds that kick that I think the White Castle’s lack.

Every year, I have to indulge at least once and it’s usually during summer vacation when we head South!  And I ALWAYS take pictures!

IMG_0696.JPGIMG_0699.jpgIMG_0697.jpgIMG_1378.jpgIMG_1459.JPG 

Although I’m a Krystal’s fan, Last year, I decided to give the White Castle copycat recipe a try and if my memory serves me correctly!  They were great and tasted exactly like a White Castle.  And although the copycat says WC, I just had to go against the grain and add mustard.  My “Copycat Krystal Burgers” were excellent!  If you like White Castle sliders or Krystal burgers, try this recipe.  You won’t be disappointed!

IMG_6519.jpg

Copycat Krystal Cheese Burger
Adapted from LifeLoveLiz

2 pkgs. dinner rolls
1 lb. ground beef (I use sirloin, but chuck is recommended)
2 1/3 c. beef broth
3/4 c. dried minced onions
8 Kraft American cheese slices
16 dill pickle slices
1/2 t. salt
1/2 t. pepper

Line a 10 x 15″ baking sheet with parchment paper.  Mix the hamburger, 2/3 c. broth and the salt & pepper until it’s easily spreadable.  Gently press and spread meat mixture into pan until you form a thin, even layer.  (Burgers are about 1/8″ thick)  Using a knife, score into 16 equal rectangles.  Use the handle of a wooden spoon or your finger to make 5 holes in each patty.  (This helps steam the buns later on)  Place the burgers in the freezer for at least 1 hour.  Remove the patties and the parchment paper from the baking sheet.  Preheat oven to 450*.  Pour remaining beef broth (1 2/3 cup) onto the baking sheet and spread minced onions over entire bottom of pan.  Allow to sit for 5-10 minutes.  Cut all dinner rolls in half to make buns.  Place frozen beef on top of onion mixture.  Place in oven for 10 minutes to allow burgers to steam cook until they turn brown.  Remove and place cheese on each patty.  Top each with a bun top and return to oven for 3 minutes or until cheese is melted.  Top each bun bottom with a dill pickle and a squirt of French’s yellow mustard.  Use a spatula to pick up each burger half and place on bun bottom.  Enjoy!

Hope this recipe will quell your hankerin’ if you can’t seem to get to a Krystal or a White Castle any time soon!  Have a great Monday!

xoxo

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

