Posted in Food

Breakfast Bars

I picked up a new cookbook the other day, cuz you know – a girl just can’t have one!  I finally had a chance last night to go through it, page by delicious page!  It’s called ‘Bake Something Great’.  And this morning, I did just that!

Since I’m always in the kitchen, I seem to have a pretty good mental inventory stashed of what ingredients I have on hand.  I came across this recipe and knew I had the majority of what it called for.  I whipped up a batch for the girls breakfast this morning.  The oldest ate two bars, but the youngest, she doesn’t like to eat in the morning.  She winds up stuffing two mandarines in her purse and runs out the door – which totally drives me nuts.  I’m a huge “you have to eat breakfast” person.  Having been overweight all my life, I now understand a little better how to keep from becoming overweight.  You actually have to eat so you don’t overeat later.  It took me a long, long time to learn that.

I do my best to teach good eating habits to the girls, but it’s tough.  I do remember not wanting to eat in the morning, but still I push breakfast.  She had a bite and said it was good, but it wasn’t good enough to make her sit down and eat a whole one.

If you like a good-for-you, quick breakfast from an easy recipe, here ya go!

20160923_054932.jpg

20160923_094039.jpg

Honey Granola Breakfast Bars

2 c. old fashioned rolled oats
1 c. whole wheat flour
3/4 c. packed brown sugar
1/4 c. wheat germ (this was the only ingredient I was missing…I just omitted it)
1/4 c. ground flax seeds
1 t. ground cinnamon
1/2 t. salt
1 egg
1/2 c. vegetable oil
1/2 liquid honey
1 t. vanilla
3/4 c. raisins or dried cranberries
1/2 c. chopped dried apricots (I used an entire 6 oz. bag) or dried apple

In a bowl, combine rolled oats, whole wheat flour, brown sugar, wheat germ, flax seeds, cinnamon and salt.  In a small bowl, whisk egg, oil, honey and vanilla until blended.  Pour over oat mixture, mixing until dry ingredients are moistened.  Stir in raisins and apricots.  Press evenly into prepared pan.

Bake in preheated 350* oven until light golden brown, 20 – 30 minutes.  Let cool completely in pan on rack.  Cut into 24 bars.

I plugged the recipe into My Fitness Pal and 24 bars came back as 167 calories per serving.  Not too bad!

Hope everyone has a great day!

xoxo

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

