“It’s So Cute!”

persimmon.jpg

Persimmons.  They’re just so cute!

This morning I was talking to my bestie on the phone about enjoying warm desserts cold.  Our conversation made me think of this recipe for persimmon pudding that I just absolutely love after it’s been in the fridge!  I told her I’d post the recipe it so she could give it a try and if you’ve never tried it – maybe you can too!

Persimmons are a really popular fruit here in Indiana.  I would guess because the trees grow everywhere – both farmed and wild.  I’ve always heard of persimmons and persimmon pudding but until I met my better half who was born and raised here, I don’t think I’d ever even seen one much less tasted one.

A few years ago, he requested persimmon pudding and because I love new challenges in the kitchen – especially if I’ve never worked with the food before, I decided to give it a go.  I found out, after one time of making this recipe that I love persimmon pudding and especially cold!  I think the reason I’d shied away from them before is because I’d always heard talk about eating them when they weren’t ripe, that they were nasty and extremely bitter.  Hence the reason the recipe calls for very ripe pulp!  But bitter isn’t the word to describe this yummy dessert!

I found this recipe on food.com.  It looked easy enough and it’s now my go to persimmon pudding recipe.  I make at least 3 to 4 pans each fall.

20160912_111841.jpg

Persimmon Pudding

by Rhonda O on Food.com

1 c. very ripe Hachiya (recommended) persimmon pulp* (see link for how many you need if you’re making your own pulp)
3/4 c. sugar
3 eggs, beaten
1 c. flour
1 t. baking powder
1/2 t. nutmeg
1 c. milk
1/4 lb. butter, melted
1/2 t. cinnamon

Combine the persimmon pulp with the sugar.  Beat in eggs.  Stir in milk and then the butter.  Sift or stir flour with baking powder, cinnamon, nutmeg.  Mix with persimmon mixture.  Pour batter into a well greased 9″ square cake pan.  Bake in a 325* oven for approximately 60 minutes or until knife comes out clean.  

*We buy frozen persimmon pulp from local orchards.  Below is the last type we found and purchased, but you can certainly make your own pulp as well.persimmon pulp.png

There are two kinds of persimmons that grow here in Indiana, Hachiya, which are oblong shaped and Fuyu which are round shaped.  There’s more about them here.

To make the pulp, wash the persimmons and slice them in half, scoop out the seeds and put the fruit into a blender.  Blend until pureed.  Pour the puree into a sieve and push through the sieve with a spoon.  There you have it!

Here’s a website that’s full of information concerning persimmons and it shows an easy way of pulping them:  Food-Skills-for-Self-Sufficiency.com and here’s another with more info and lots of persimmon recipes rural values.org/images/RC_persimmons.pdf.  I’ve only made persimmon pudding, but I’m certainly not against trying any of them!  The persimmon cookies caught my eye!

I just now discovered they are having the 70th Annual Persimmon Festival in Mitchell, Indiana!  Sadly, it ends this Saturday so that knocks us out.  We have other exciting events taking priority this weekend – but more on that later!

I hope everyone has a great Thursday!

xoxo

One response

  1. […] persimmon pulp so I could make him and his co-workers some persimmon pudding.  One thing about the persimmon pudding recipe that I’ve made repeatedly over the last few years is it has A LOT of butter in […]

    Like

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

