Posted in Food

Ohhh Apple Crisp

Good Monday morning! I wanted to tell you about Friday, but more specifically about Friday’s dessert!  It was a super successful cooking day, I made the bean and ham soup, cheesy corn cornbread and apple crisp. I have to say, it was all delicious. I was a little skeptical of the cornbread considering most breads don’t taste right since I stopped eating so much of it but everyone assured me it was very good.

Not surprisingly, the apple crisp did not survive the evening. It went home with our company, which was the perfect scenario since I would have definitely gone back or at least have been tortured thinking about seconds had it stayed!  This is absolutely the best apple crisp I’ve ever had.  I have to admit, I usually buy the crumb topping that comes in a package from our local apple orchard.  Since we haven’t been this year yet and I had to come up with a dessert and apples go well with ham, hence the apple crisp!  I will admit, the next time I make this, I will be much more careful with the sugar, it was just so sweet once adding the caramel sauce!  I doubled the recipe since I had so many apples and both of the girls have requested that I make it again.  Success!  And – it’s fruit!  I’ll get it in any way I possibly can!  Even swimming in sugar, lol!

Apple Crisp

Adapted from TastesBetterFromScratch

Crumb Topping:

½ c. flour
½ c. old-fashioned oats
½ c. brown sugar
½ t. baking powder
¼ t. ground cinnamon
¼ t. nutmeg
dash of salt
1/3 c. butter, diced into small chunks (I left a couple sticks of butter on the counter over night to soften)

Apples:

3-4 large Granny Smith apples, peeled and sliced thin
3 T. butter, melted
2 T. flour
1 T. lemon juice
3 T. milk
½ t. vanilla extract
¼ c. brown sugar
½ t. ground cinnamon
¼ t. nutmeg
dash of salt

Serve with vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce

Preheat oven to 375*. In a medium bowl, combine the crumb topping ingredients with a fork or pastry blender* until it resembles small crumbs. Refrigerate while you prepare the apple filling. For the apples, in a small bowl, combine melted butter and flour until well blended. Add lemon juice, milk and vanilla and stir well. Stir in brown sugar, cinnamon and salt. Pour butter mixture over apples and toss to coast. Pour apple mixture into an 8×8” baking dish and spread into an even layer. Sprinkle crumb toping evenly over the apples. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown and top is set. Remove form oven and allow to cool for at least 10 minutes before serving. Serve with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and caramel sauce.

*If you don’t have a pastry blender, please go buy one. I’ve always used a fork, but no more.  I just invested one of these and wow, it really incorporates the ingredients so much better than a fork!

One of our family to-do’s for the fall is we visit an apple farm/pumpkin patch every October.  Now, armed with this recipe, I’ll definitely be buying more apples than usual!

Have a great day everyone!

xoxo

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

