Posted in Food, Home

A Little American Mexican

I feel SO creative today, but yet SO unmotivated.  What does that?  When I wake up in the morning I’m like raring to go…then bam – flatlined.  It’s really kinda frustrating.  Since I don’t have to urge to move right now, I thought I’d update.  I have a few goodies I can share.  I finally picked and purchased the paint color for downstairs.  I hate to say it, but I went with a safe color.  The winner – Smoky White by Behr.

smoky white.jpg

I have to say – it goes with everything, it’s not overpowering and I don’t think I’ll get sick of it like I already have with a couple of the more bold colors I’ve painted in other rooms.  My prayer is, it will pull the room together nicely.  I SHOULD be downstairs painting, but…nope.

Back in the day there was a restaurant called Hamburger Hamlet in Bethesda, Maryland.  According to a Bethesda website, it was in the same shopping center since 1973, but closed in 2013.  My parents and I would to go there when I was a kid and then when the girls dad and I were together, we would eat there as well.  My last experience at Hamburger Hamlet was not a pleasant one and sometime in the late 90’s I would guesstimate. We went for dinner and I ordered my most favorite meal there – a chicken quesadilla (I know…at a hamburger place – bizarre I know).  This quesadilla was something that I would crave.  Hunks of chicken swimming in butter with loads of onions and cheese with huge slices of avocado, topped off with creamy sour cream.  So delicious…UNTIL…that fateful evening…  when I found a long (thankfully long) dark hair stretched neatly across the entire interior of my chicken quesadilla.  And as they say, that was that.  I was done.  No more chicken quesadillas and absolutely no more Hamburger Hamlet.  Sadly, but not surprisingly it’s now closed.

For years, I’ve dreamed of this quesadilla and I do like trying to replicate my restaurant favorites.  Sometimes it’s successful, sometimes it’s a total fail.  Last night, I made a chicken quesadilla trying desperately to successfully imitate theirs.  I have to say, it was good, but it wasn’t Hamburger Hamlet (sans hair) good.  I’ll have to keep trying until I find the sweet spot.  This one wasn’t a fail, but it wasn’t successful either.

20160912_155955.jpg

I should have posed this photo, but I didn’t and of course, the pic doesn’t do the flavor justice.  And I only snapped one because I was SO ready to dive in!  Not to mention my family looks at me as if I’m crazy and I get the obligatory – “no cell phones at the dinner table, mom!”  I will say, that I do give myself props for making this guy much lower fat than I’m sure Hamburger Hamlet’s ever dreamed of.  This whole quesadilla was less than 400 calories.  Here is how I did it.

Chicken Quesadilla (sans hair)
Makes 4

3 chicken breasts, boiled in chicken broth seasoned with carrots, celery & onions
Seasonings to your liking (I used Adobo)
1 onion, sliced
1 red bell pepper, sliced
1 green bell pepper, sliced
1 cup fat free mozzarella cheese, shredded
4 Ole Xtreme Wellness High Fiber Low Carb Tortilla Wraps
Salsa, sour cream, pico or Avocado Buttermilk Ranch dressing (optional, recipe below)

Boil chicken until done (I like the chicken soft), remove from broth & shred.  Place chicken in pan with a 1/4 cup broth to keep warm and sprinkle with adobo, taco, chipotle or whatever seasoning you prefer and mix up.  In another pan, saute the peppers and onions with a tablespoon olive oil/butter or broth to keep the calories down.  In another pan, sprayed with Pam, place a tortilla wrap and then layer the chicken, the peppers & onions and the cheese on half tortilla and flip the other half over to cover the layers.  Take a salad plate and smash down the quesadilla to seal it so when you flip it, all the goody doesn’t fly out.  Heat until the cheese is melted and tortilla is golden.  Then holding the plate, flip the pan upside down, let the tortilla fall into plate, spray pan with Pam and slide tortilla back into the pan to heat the other side.  Serve with salsa, light sour cream, pico or my favorite avocado buttermilk ranch dressing! 

Avocado Buttermilk Ranch Dressing

1 pkg. Hidden Valley Ranch buttermilk dressing mix (dry)
1 cup light mayo
3/4 c. lowfat buttermilk
1 T. minced garlic
Blend in blender until blended (hehehe).  Place in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.  Serve on whatever.  It’s that good! 

I’m always trying to fit in more fruits and vegetables into dinner time.  Not only for myself but for the non-vegetable eaters in the family too.  To accompany the quesadilla, I came up with this yummy side.

Bean & Corn Salad

1 can (14 oz.) black beans
1 can (14 oz.) whole kernel corn
1/2 – 3/4 red onion, chopped
1/2 -3/4 large cucumber, chopped

2 medium tomatoes, chopped*
1 – 2 T. lime juice
cilantro, to taste

*I have a Vidalia Chop Wizard that I absolutely could NOT live without.  In fact, I’ve broken a couple in my day, trying to chop things that probably shouldn’t have been chopped.  I have to rush right out to pick up another.  I simply can’t cook without it!  I recommend if you do any chopping at all, this thing is a godsend for $20! 

Chop and mix all ingredients together in a bowl.  Refrigerate.  Enjoy on or beside the quesadilla.

So there you have it!  Hopefully if you like stuff like this you’ll give these recipes a shot.  Hope everyone has a great day!  I’d better start moving, day’s almost over!!

xoxo

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

