Reinventing the Waffle

In the last week or so I’ve been seriously focusing on my weight more than anything, specifically losing this 20 lbs. I somehow gained over the summer.  (I blame those stupid, sweet, sugary, frozen daquiris.)  I am happy to report I’m over the hump and heading back  towards my previous weight of 145.5.  From there, I am 19.5 lbs. away from my goal weight of 126.  I’ve been dropping pounds pretty quickly by drinking lots of water, eating well – fruits, veggies and low carb, exercising 30 minutes per day and of course, focusing on what I’m doing.  Once I start focusing on something else, like cooking or remodeling something, that distracts me and can drive me right off track.  I read this article recently called ’10 Things No One Tells You About Losing Weight’ and #10 spoke to me, loud and clear!  It states:

“…the burden of maintaining weight loss may be emotionally taxing.The National Weight Control Registry, which tracks people who have lost more than 30 pounds and maintained it for a year, found that people who are able to maintain weight often can only succeed by becoming obsessive.”

I have already found this to be the case with me and I haven’t even reached my goal yet!  I do have to be a bit obsessive about keeping the weight off.  Although, it does seem to be getting easier since I know what my body responds to, plus I’ve learned to listen to my body more often.  It’s quite interesting how much you learn about yourself from losing weight.  You really learn to pay attention to your body and what it’s telling you.  I think part of weight loss and maintaining your health is listening to your body’s signals.  It gives you plenty, it’s just choosing to hear what it’s saying or ignoring it like so many of us do.

I said in my last couple posts, that I’d update as to how the basement is coming along.  Even after close to 30 samples, I’m still in search of the perfect color.  Yesterday I bought 4 more samples, and I just tried them on the walls, eh…  I have slowed down a bit as I’m trying to even out expenses because of upcoming trips, birthdays, etc.  We have a couple big hitters coming up next month that I’ll have to be prepared for.  But, the really nice thing is, I’m almost there.  Some paint, a couple lights, the pool table recovered, I’m going to call it good.

Here is what the room looks like so far; I really can’t wait til it’s painted!  UGH!

 

Have a terrific day!

xoxo

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

| a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

The Busy Spatula

There's always something to make!

