On Wednesday We Waffle

Well, ok…on some Wednesdays!!  Today, according to the news, happens to be National Waffle Day!!  (I had to confirm since you never know if what the news is reporting is the truth.)  According to sites online, it is indeed National Waffle Day, which is celebrated every year on August 24th!

This morning when I heard, I decided I’d break out the ole waffle iron and make some for the girls for breakfast.  Yesterday I had signed off here with the goal of baking a lemon cake.  I ran to the store, purchased what I needed and grabbed a few extra lemons just to have on hand.  With the lemon cake, I also made a lemon cream cheese icing – something told me to save the leftovers!  So, with all that in mind, I thought some version of a lemon waffle would be awesome!  And I knew I had the lemons on hand!

I came across this recipe, confirmed we had all the ingredients and whipped them up in a flash!  One at a time they came in for breakfast.  The youngest said as she was taking her dish to the sink, “those were better than I’d thought they’d be, I thought they’d be plain old waffles.”  She ate hers with a little bit of butter and icing.  The older one just ate hers with butter, said they were “really good”.  In my book, they were a hit!  I thinned mine with milk instead of water and I used more than the 3/4 cup that the original recipe called for but still the ricotta made them very, very filling!

Here’s the original recipe I followed from Joy the Baker!

Lemon Ricotta Waffles with Poppy Seeds

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons granulated sugar

1 tablespoon fresh lemon zest

1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

3 tablespoons fresh lemon juice

1/2 cup part-skim milk ricotta cheese

3/4 cup water or milk (I used water)

2 teaspoons poppy seeds (optional)

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In a small bowl, rub together granulated sugar and lemon zest until the sugar is scented with lemon. Add the lemon sugar to the bowl with the dry ingredients.

In a bowl or large measuring cup, whisk together butter, eggs, vanilla, lemon juice, ricotta, and water. Whisk until thoroughly combined.

Add the wet ingredients all at once to the dry ingredients and stir to combine. Add the poppy seeds (if using) and stir to incorporate. Try not to over mix the batter. It’s ok if a few lumps remain.

Heat you waffle iron according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Dollop batter into the waffle iron and cook until golden brown. Serve immediately. These waffles can also be individually wrapped and frozen. They’re great heated up in the toaster or in the oven.

Have a wonderful waffle filled Wednesday!

xoxo

20160824_093816.jpg

When you simply couldn’t eat another bite…

20160824_093908.jpg

…night night!

 

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

