In Defense of Mondays

I don’t think I’ve ever been one of those people that complained about Mondays, even when I had a job.  Monday always seem like the perfect days to start something…a diet, spring cleaning, trouble, ya know, it always feels like a fresh start to me.  Kinda like New Year’s but better since there’s lots more of them.  This morning though, has felt like anything but a fresh start.  It feels pretty much like the last 3 weeks.  I’m complaining about the same things and not changing them, I still have the same chores on my list and not completing them, another day to just be stagnant.  But, hey – at least I have an ability to complain about it to the www.  Maybe some of you can commiserate.

This morning was like any other until about a hour ago when my oldest daughter flew into the room to ask if I’d take her to school.  I said, no.  She then proceeded to let me know she’d woken up “2 minutes ago”.  My oldest is now a sophomore.  I woke her up at 5:45 a.m. as I usually do.  It’s now my fault she didn’t wake up.  I don’t believe in babying your children.  I believe in loving them and caring for them and being available when they need you, but I think I’m doing a (dis)service by waking them up at all.  They both have alarms.  I need to start making them set them and wake up by them.  Today I need to purchase an air horn.  Forget this responsibility thing laying on my shoulders and me being blamed.  Nah…ain’t doin’ it.

20160806_183732.jpg

This weekend we went to Ollie’s Bargain Outlet.  I absolutely love, love this store!!  For me, it’s like Christmas every time we go!  The deals are SO good that easily it could become addictive shopping.  Luckily it’s on the other side of town so I’m not too inclined to drive over too often. They have good deals on spices and foods sometimes, lots of processed which I’ve cut down on, but I’ve found Hellman’s Light Mayo there for less than half price of a regular jar!  Deals on toiletries, housewares, kitchenware, pet supplies, you name it, they pretty much have a variation of it.  The draw for me is the same every time.  I go there to buy cookbooks, because I just don’t have enough (insert copious amounts of sarcasm).  Books in general are my weakness, but I’ve slacked off from buying just any ole books.  But cookbooks…those are a different story.  And I don’t really understand my logic, because pretty much any recipe you could or would need, want, think of, etc. is on the internet!  However, that doesn’t seem to matter.  I go to Ollie’s and they have hundreds of cookbooks…just look at this…I behaved myself when I only bought these…

20160808_075110.jpg

and look at the prices?!?  How can you say no.  The deal is just too good!

20160808_080931.jpg

$16 for what could have potentially been $50!?!?  Yeah, too good to pass up!  After bringing these babies home, last night I made my first recipe from the Fix It and Enjoy It Healthy Cookbook.  Here it is:

20160807_161011

Herb Marinated Steak

1/4 c. chopped onion
2 T. fresh parsley
2 T. balsamic vinegar
1 T. olive oil
2 t. Dijon mustard
1 clove garlic, minced
1 lb. London Broil (I used skirt steak, couldn’t find London Broil)

Combine onion, parsley, vinegar, oil, mustard and garlic in a bowl.  

Place steak in a sturdy plastic bag.  Add onion mixture, spreading it on both sides of the meat.  Close bag securely.

Place filled bag in a long dish in case of any leaks.  Marinate in refrigerator 6-8 hours or overnight.  Turn it over at least once while marinating.  

Pour off marinade.  Place steak on rack in broiler pan so meat is about 5″ from heat source.  Broil about 6-8 minutes on each side for rare, 9 minutes on each side for medium.

When finished broiling, allow meat to stand for 10 minutes.  

Then carve diagonally across the grain into thin slices.   

I did grill ours instead of broiling.  It was really good.  Everyone ate well, but did comment that the skirt steak had too much fat, so lesson learned.

Well, I’m going to try to get through the day without too much discourse.

Have a great Monday everyone!

xoxo

2 responses

  1. The situation in the morning with your daughter reminds me of the saying “Your failure to plan is not my emergency”. I’ve been thinking of hanging this in my office for my students to see lol.

    Like

    1. Yes! Poor planning on your part, does not constitute an emergency on mine!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

