Posted in Food, Photography, Travel

Smoked Turkey & Summer Vacation

Good morning fellow bloggers!  I’m going to do my best in the next couple weeks to bring this blog up to speed on current events!  I’ve really been slacking!  My prolonged absence was due to our summer vacation originally, then school and other life events just seem to keep coming!

First, let me pass this delicious recipe on to you that I tried recently.  Although I couldn’t bribe anyone else to eat it, I thoroughly enjoyed this sandwich!  If you like turkey and cranberry sauce, I suggest giving this a try for something a bit different!

Smoked Turkey and Cranberry Sandwiches
Betty Crocker’s New Eat and Lose Weight Cookbook

1/3 c. fat free cream cheese, softened
1/3 c. whole berry cranberry sauce
8 slices whole grain bread (I really like Healthfull by Oroweat)
6 oz. deli style fat free smoked turkey (I used Dietz & Watson)
4 lettuce leaves

Mix cream cheese and cranberry sauce.  Spread over bread slices.  Place turkey & lettuce on bread slices.  Top with remaining bread.  Enjoy!

In June, we had a wonderful, relaxing, two week summer vacation.  We didn’t set the world on fire, but it sure was nice to get away for a while.  Once we arrived at our destinations, we pretty much stayed put.  We didn’t explore, we didn’t hit any tourist destinations, we just enjoyed our immediate surroundings.  And thankfully I was afforded a chance to visit with some friends that I haven’t seen in over 20 years!  Because of that alone made it a successful vacation for me!

I won’t go into too many details so as to not bore you to tears if you’re reading, but our main destinations were Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, where I have friends and I hadn’t been since 1999.  Tybee, Georgia where we visit every year and for the first time ever, Clearwater, Florida.  We spent four relaxing days at each destination and we spent most of our time people watching, walking and eating – with of course, a little bit of shopping, drinking and visiting with friends and family!!

 

We met some great people on vacation, had some great food and just basically enjoyed what took place day by day.  I think next year, we’ll settle for visiting only one or two destinations, since hitting three with such distances between them were a little much.  Now with school back in session and everyone back on somewhat of a schedule, I should be able to catch up fairly quickly!

xoxo

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

