Posted in Food

Apple Pie Cupcakes

I don’t like missing this many days posting.  Have I said that before?  I just feel like something out of my day is missing when I don’t post something.  I have so much to talk about – always, but sometimes I just don’t seem to get here.  The better half has been home the last two days and I don’t take time to write when he’s home.  We’re usually doing something, but also, I like to write alone.  It drives me batty when someone is standing over my shoulder and I think they’re reading what I’m typing.  And that goes for anything, even a grocery list.  Maybe I think they’re going to be critical or correct me, but I’m just not comfortable writing in front of anyone and that includes my kids.  I find that when I do it to them, even when they’re doing their homework, they’re like, “Can I help you?”  Which is basically what I say when they do it to me.  LOL

Today was an odd day to say the least.  I was under the impression that since the better half stayed home we were going to do something “fun”.  Well, he woke up to find that our garage door wouldn’t open, so he worked on it for about 3 hours and then wound up calling someone to replace the springs anyway.  It hasn’t been a total waste of a day though, while he was doing that, I squeezed in a dessert for tonight.  The first and only dessert this week and it was a hit!  In fact, I ate it a couple hours ago and can’t seem to stop thinking about having another one!  But I won’t… <sigh>

I found this recipe on Key Ingredient, but in doing another search I also found it on the Betty Crocker website.  Here’s my rendition…

IMG_1123.jpg

Apple Pie Cupcakes

Filling:
2 T. butter
2 large Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored and diced into 1/4″ cubes
2 T. packed brown sugar
1/2 t. ground cinnamon
1/8 t. salt
1 1/2 T. lemon

Topping:
2 T. butter
1/4 c. flour
1/4 c. packed brown sugar
1/4 c. chopped walnuts

Reddi Whip
Caramel

Crust:
1 can Pillsbury refrigerated cinnamon rolls with icing

Heat oven to 400°F. Lightly spray 8 regular size muffin cups with cooking spray.
In 10-inch skillet, melt 2 tablespoons butter over medium-high heat. Add apples; cook about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, until softened. Sprinkle with 2 tablespoons brown sugar, the cinnamon and salt. Cook 5 minutes longer or until tender. Stir in lemon juice.
Meanwhile, in small bowl, mix topping ingredients with fork or hands until crumbly. Set aside.

Separate dough into 8 rolls. Flatten each into 4-inch round; place in muffin cups.
Divide filling evenly onto rolls in muffin cups. Divide Topping evenly over filling.
Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until bubbly and tops are lightly browned. Cool slightly before removing from muffin cups. Cool completely, about 30 minutes.

Serve cupcakes topped with whipped cream, a drizzle of caramel and the icing.  

I liked this dessert a lot because they weren’t crazy sweet.  Just sweet enough to make you feel like you were having dessert.  I recommend you try this if you like apple pie…and really, who doesn’t like apple pie?

Have a great weekend everyone & enjoy!!

IMG_1114.jpg

IMG_1126.jpg

IMG_1127.JPG

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

2 thoughts on “Apple Pie Cupcakes

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

