A Bit Off Kilter

What do you think?  Better, more calming to look at?  I never know what’s visually appealing to others.  I suppose I just want something that doesn’t make anyone ill when they look at it.  Most blogs that I read are more of a neutral color.  Thought I’d update it, see if it made my food look any more appealing, ha!

So first, let me tell you how absent minded I’ve been – on the chance, that you too have been in the same situation recently.  Perhaps we won’t feel so alone if you realize that someone else is struggling to remember their own first name.

Friday morning, the alarm went off, I turned over and wondered to myself why isn’t he getting up?  He NEVER lies in bed once the alarm goes off.  He said, “are you ready to get up?”  Yep, let’s go.  We mosey on into the kitchen, I start the coffee and I take the stuff out of the refrigerator to make his lunch.  He looks at me as if I’ve grown three heads overnight and says, “I don’t work today”.  Ugh…light – bulb.  Wow, he had to remind me that he didn’t have to work.  That’s bad.

Saturday evening, I told the girls that we were having company for Easter and they needed to make sure to go to bed early, blah blah blah.  I made the comment, “well, you have school Monday.”  My youngest said, “No, we don’t!  We have another week!”  And I said, “No, you don’t.”  She panicked and had this wild look in her eyes.  She started running around, yammering about the calendar, she looks at the kitchen calendar – nothing, she grabs her iPad and looks up the school calendar…sure enough, they have another week.  At this point, I’m feeling like dumb and dumber.  This isn’t me.  I’m usually more on top of things and at least have some idea of what’s going on!  I feel like I’m here but my brain’s taking a short unscheduled vacation!

Easter was, to put it kindly, fine.  It wasn’t exactly the exciting family day I had envisioned, but it was sunny and warm so that made it wonderful in itself.  It was in the 70’s, which I was so thrilled about.  I’m tired of the cold, I’m ready for some comfortable warm weather.  (Next thing I know it’ll be flame on around here and you won’t be able to go outside.)

Easter dinner consisted of a baked ham with mustard and brown sugar glaze, duchess potatoes (that failed), creamed spinach*, sautéed corn bacon & scallions , angelic deviled eggs* and I even went out on a limb and heated up some King’s Hawaiian rolls!!  I was going to go the distance and make hot cross buns, but I simply didn’t have it in me.  I made carrot cake cupcakes*, an angel berry trifle and a lemon meringue pie.  The majority was eaten up and everyone complimented and said it was delicious. (I will post the recipes for the creamed spinach, the deviled eggs & the cupcakes in the next post.)

IMG_0672.jpg

IMG_0683.JPG

IMG_0685.JPG

We had the better half’s father and step-mother over so it was an intimate Easter dinner.  I served the food and his step-mom looked at the plate and turned up her nose.  I said, I know you don’t like spinach but you have to at least try it.  (She said the same thing when I made spinach bites one time, but she kept going back for more and couldn’t believe it was spinach!)  She said, I don’t like corn and I don’t like spinach.  I thought, oh terrific – at least there’s dessert!  She wound up eating everything and telling me it was all very good.  I have to laugh, she’s 84 and a real hoot.  I can only hope that I’m as “with it” at 60 as she is at 84.

DSC_0027.JPG

DSC_0064.JPG

Today is being spent with the kids and their friends, doing family friendly activities before Spring Break is over.  I hope everyone has a fantabulous day!

xoxo

2 responses

  1. Beautiful table setting and that trifle looks delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! And the trifle is actually low cal & low fat, I thought it was pretty good. My kids didn’t like it as well as the full fledged fattening desserts though. I will try to post the recipes tomorrow!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

| a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

The Busy Spatula

There's always something to make!

