Posted in Family, Food

Regularly Scheduled Programming

It’s pouring rain and I am super lazy.  I believe the comatose feeling is the one that settles in after a having a high adrenaline day like I did yesterday; the tying up loose ends for the bathroom, rushing to the airport since it was almost 30 minutes ahead of schedule, the excitement of the girls stories of their trip and not to mention the fact that I woke up around 1 a.m. and didn’t go back to sleep until almost 3:15 a.m. and then woke up for the day at 4:30 a.m..  Yeah, I’m kinda tired.

I REALLY should be prepping dinner and making dessert instead of sitting here, but here I am hoping that maybe someone will find this recent recipe a part of their upcoming weekend dinner menu!

IMG_0464.JPG

Philly Cheese Steak Crescent Pizza

Makes 8 servings, 230 cal., 13 g. total fat, 15 g. carb., 12 g. protein

1 (8 oz.) can pillsbury crescent dinner rolls
8 oz. thinly sliced deli roast beef (I used Dietz & Watson London Broil)
1 T. purchased italian dressing (I used Kraft)
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
2 T. olive or vegetable oil
1 cup coarsely chopped or thinly sliced onions
1/2 t. beef broth flavored bouillon (I just used a cube of Wyler’s and it worked fine)

Heat oven to 375*.  Unroll dough in ungreased 13 x 9″ pan.  Press over bottom and 1/2″ up sides.  Firmly press perforations to seal.  Wrap beef tightly in foil.  Place both crescent dough and beef in oven.  Bake at 375* for 10 minutes or until crust is light golden brown.

Arrange warm beef over partially baked crust.  Brush with dressing.  Sprinkle with cheese. Return to oven; bake an additional 8-10 minutes or until edges of crust are golden brown and cheese is melted.

Meanwhile, heat oil in medium skillet over medium heat until hot.  Add bell pepper, onions and bouillon; cook and stir 3-5 minutes or until vegetables are tender, stirring frequently.  Spoon cooked vegetables over melted cheese.

I loved this – it was just so doggone easy and it’s so versatile!  That buttery dough really makes it too!

Just a note: I do not recommend heating the leftovers in the microwave.  Unless, of course,  you don’t mind soggy crust.  I don’t, but the better half didn’t like it at all.  If you do find yourself needing to reheat this, I would place it in the oven on a cookie sheet.

Hope you enjoy!

xoxo

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

2 thoughts on “Regularly Scheduled Programming

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

