Spring “Broke”

Instead of feeling sorry for myself and wallowing in my own misery, I decided to do something productive with my “Spring Break” without children.

Our home is one of those – “well, that needs doing”, “oh I’ll get around to that”, “ooo I’d love to paint that” or “re-cover this” or “re-arrange that” – kinda home.  Like its occupant, it’s definitely a work in progress.  I believe I mentioned before that we haven’t lived here very long, only about four years now and each year, we move closer towards “finishing” the house.  I laugh out loud when I say that because already I have a desire to change one of the rooms we’ve already completed.  I might as well accept that’s just the way it is.  But also, that is one of the huge benefits to owning a home, you get to do what you want, when you want and it can take you as long as you want.  And it’s a good thing cuz my deadlines for most projects are seriously under projected!!

I’m one of those people that absolutely love paint samples!  If I could, I’d paint all the rooms in the house a patchwork quilt of color, that is if I thought it wouldn’t make the rest of my family nutso.  I have a collection of paint samples that at some point I believed were going to be the bee’s knees.  A few actually made the cut and went on to grow into a gallon and graced a wall or two, but most live on in their small jars only to be used on a random craft project, destined to dry up and eventually be carted off to the tox drop.

One such room vying for the patchwork effect was the girls bathroom.  They never, ever said anything, God bless ’em.  I’d go in every once in a while, with two to three samples in hand, paint over the gross and add to the ones that were still in the running.  This has been on going in their bathroom for about a year or dare I say even longer.  I used to try to keep pictures hanging over the small painted squares, but then I said, “ah da hell with it” and just started painting outside the box so to speak.

I decided long ago that the color scheme for the bathroom would be purple, gray and yellow, colors pulled from an artists rendering of a bunny rabbit that was purchased years ago in Tennessee.  It hangs in the bathroom over the chevron “S”.  In January I actually settled on a wall color and the girls agreed that they too approved of the color.  I purchased the gallon of paint and shoved it into the bathroom closet.  Monday, I finally broke the seal and began painting.

I’m happy to say that with the extensive help of my better half and his tolerance for my “I don’t feel like cooking, can we go out?” pleas, we managed to have it ready for their return today!  I’m so excited I can’t wait for them to see it!  Of course, I’m also the type of person that the reveal is my favorite part but a close second to that is the shopping for and decorating part which I did today!  I bought some storage bins and some shelving for knickknacks, mainly replaced the old and gave the already here a fresh face.  The dollar store purchases were my favorite!!

Here are a few photos of the before:



Over the course of the last year…


And the long awaited and anticipated today..


  

I really don’t remember choosing this particular color of paint, but I evidently must have since I had a whole gallon of it!  I was a little worried because I wanted more of a purple but this is most definitely a gray.  I am extremely happy to report however, that I really, really like it.  It’s called “Sensitive” by Sherwin Williams.  I’m so hoping the girls really, really like it too!

Thanks for reading and have a great night!  I plan to!

xoxo

2 responses

  1. Your bathroom came out looking very nice! The colors are great.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you very much Ann! I appreciate you saying so! It was definitely a labor of love!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

| a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

