Posted in Food

Pretty Pretty Pizza?

I thought this recipe was delicious!  It tasted just like pizza even without the sauce…must be the mozzarella, pepper combination.  I would definitely recommend this with your next Italian dinner!

I have included the original recipe with my substitutions underneath the original.

Colorburst Olive Pizza Slices
Campbell’s Low-Fat Cooking, 1995

1 loaf (about 14 oz.) Italian bread (about 16″ long), cut lengthwise

1/3 c. refrigerated Marie’s reduced calorie Cream Italian Garlic Dressing
I used Kraft Creamy Italian Dressing

1 c. chopped green, red and or yellow pepper
I used green & red

1/4 c. sliced green onions, about 2

1/4 c. sliced Vlasic pitted ripe olives
I used Mario’s sliced black olives

3/4 c. (3 oz.) shredded part skim mozzarella cheese

Bake bread on baking sheet at 400* for 5 minutes or until lightly toasted.  Spread dressing on bread, top with peppers, onions, olives and cheese.  Bake 10 minutes more or until cheese is melted.  Cut each bread half into 12 slices.

Makes 24 appetizers.  Prep time: 15 minutes  Cook time: 15 minutes

Nutritional Value Per slice (in original ingredient list):
Calories 71, Total Fat 2g, Sat. Fat 1g, Cholesterol 3 mg, Sodium 180 mg, Total Carb 10 g., Protein 3 g.

20160309_153746.jpg

20160309_153738.jpg

The better half rated this a 9 1/2, he said it needed sausage, lol – typical guy statement.  Oldest daughter in typical teen form said 7, cuz I didn’t like the peppers.  She did eat it and said it was good.  Youngest daughter wouldn’t even consider tasting it.  So based on all that being said, I’ll be making it again.  (Probably tonight since I only made 1/2 of it last night!)  Enjoy!

xoxo

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

One thought on “Pretty Pretty Pizza?

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

