There’s a First Time for Everything

Oh my gosh!  I’ve done absolutely nothing all day but bake.  Well, ok, I did go to the dollar store and I picked up some powdered sugar from the grocery store but other than that did nothing but bake cookies, all day.

I used a recipe for sugar cookies that my cousin gave me and then decorated them for Valentine’s Day.  Take a look!  It’s the first time I’ve ever made these cookies.  The first time, the girls made them!

Cut Out Sugar Cookies

1 cup butter, softened
3 cups flour
½ t. baking soda
1 t. salt
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 T. vanilla

Combine the flour, soda and salt and toss together. Set aside. Cream the butter on high until pale yellow, scraping down the bowl frequently. Add the sugar and turn to medium speed. Beat for 2 minutes, until soft and almost white. Add the eggs and vanilla, beat about 30 seconds. Add the flour mixture and mix on low about 30 seconds.

Form 2 separate pieces and wrap in waxed paper. Freeze for 20-30 minutes. When you’re ready to roll the dough, sprinkle surface lightly with flour and sprinkle top of dough lightly as well. Roll out, add flour if you need it to keep it from sticking. Cut out shapes, place on parchment paper on cookie sheets. Bake at 375* for 8-10 minutes or until barely brown on edges. Cool on rack.

I iced them with a Simple Cookie Glaze from kingarthurflour.com.

2 1/4 c. confectioner’s sugar, sifted
2 T. light corn syrup
1-2 T. milk, plus 1 t. milk
Food coloring
(And I used a little vanilla in the icing as well)

Mix all ingredients together.  Stir until smooth.  Glaze should be thick but soft enough to set.

 

I can’t wait for the girls to come home and try one.  I’ll let you know the outcome!  Have a great Thursday evening!

*These cookies were a hit and were polished off post haste!!

8 responses

  1. Very cute cookies!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thank you! They were so fun to make!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve never tried using corn syrup in the icing for cookies! Thanks for the idea..I’m going to try it!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re very welcome!! You know, I don’t particularly care for the taste of powdered sugar icing unless it includes butter or cream cheese, but this pairs with the cookies nicely because they aren’t very sweet to begin with! Hope you enjoy them! 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This works great for me, because I’m one of the few people in this world who doesn’t like butter!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my!! In the South that’s blasphemy, LOL! Butter is a staple in our house, although I’ve cut back considerably I can’t imagine not enjoying the flavor of it!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. […] because they know I love to make them, the girls requested my cut out sugar cookies, which I’m happy to do because really, who doesn’t love […]

    Like

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

| a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

