Posted in Food

So Much To Do(nut)…

…so little time to do it.  I know that’s a lie, at least most of the time.  I somehow have found the time today to Yelp, move cat furniture, download a ton of apps to my new electronic toy, eat – twice, talk to the better half – three times and finish almost all of the laundry.  I still have loads of stuff to do like vacuum and finish the laundry, not to mention plan tonight’s dinner, which I believe will be something like ham fettuccine or something close to it.

I was going to exercise but instead I’m going to vacuum, lol, that’s exercise isn’t it?  Yesterday I spent some time playing with a new site – here’s the link if anyone would like to take a minute to check it out, Frankie Goes to Greenwood.  I didn’t want to flood this page with kitty photos, even though he is the most adorable little thing!

Since I don’t have a lot of time to gather a coherent thought on the weekends usually, I’ll go ahead and share a recipe that I made a few days ago.  I’ve been talking about making doughnuts for a while now but I just felt so intimidated – so many steps and not to mention I’m not a huge fan of frying but I bit the bullet and went for it.  I have a “library” in our basement and I had seen a doughnut cookbook down there, so I pulled it out and gave it a shot.  I have to admit, they weren’t that difficult.  I’m sure if everyone had been home and I had been talking to them, I would have messed them up somehow, but it went pretty smooth!  I was pretty happy with how they turned out.  I did try one before I put the glaze on, but I much preferred them with the glaze.

The original recipe is called Fresh Jelly Doughnuts and it can be found in the book 150 best donut recipes – fried or baked by George Geary.  Here’s the recipe:

Fresh Glazed Doughnuts with Store Bought Lemon Curd

For the Doughnuts:

3/4 c. plus 1 t. whole milk, warmed to 110*

8 g. quick rising yeast

1 large egg

1 large egg white

2 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 3/4 c. flour

1 Tbsp. granulated sugar

1/8 tsp. salt

canola oil

2 10 oz. jars of Dickinson’s Lemon Curd

For the Glaze:

1 1/2 c. confectioners sugar, sifted

3-4 T. milk

2 t. vanilla

In mixer bowl, sprinkle yeast over milk and stir with a fork. Let stand until foamy, about 5 minutes.

Attach bowl to mixer fitted with paddle attachment and add egg, egg white, butter, vanilla, 1 cup of the flour, sugar and salt to yeast mixture. Let stand in bowl for 10 minutes. On low speed, mix just until blended, then gradually add just enough of the remaining flour until dough starts to pull away from the sides of bowl. Increase speed to medium and beat for 1 minute.

Transfer dough to a large oiled bowl and cover with plastic wrap. Let rise in a warm, draft free place until doubled in volume, about 30 minutes.

IMG_9320.jpg

On floured work surface, roll out dough to slightly thicker than 1/4″. If dough is tacky, dust with additional flour. Cut dough with cutter into 12 doughnuts, re-rolling scraps as necessary. Place at least 1″ apart on prepared baking sheet. Cover with a clean kitchen towel and let rise for 20 minutes.

IMG_9321.JPG

IMG_9325.JPG

Meanwhile, in a large, deep pot or deep fryer, heat about 4″ oil over medium heat until temperature registers 360*. Deep fry 4 doughnuts at a time in hot oil, turning once with wooden chopsticks until golden brown, about 15 seconds per side. Using a slotted spoon, transfer to paper towels to absorb excess oil. Fry remaining doughnuts, adjusting heat as necessary between batches to maintain oil temperature.

IMG_9328.jpg

Let doughnuts cool completely then fill with pre-made lemon curd using a pastry bag with a Bismarck or plain tip. If desired, ice with glaze or dust with powdered sugar.

Whisk together ingredients for glaze and dip doughnuts in glaze.  (I dipped mine twice to make sure they were covered as the icing was thin so it kept running off – I think the kitchen was too warm.)

IMG_9365.JPG

These were really good.  Shoot for making 12 doughnuts.  I did, but I made mine kinda big and some weren’t as thick as I would have liked.  My better half wanted glazed only so the thin ones I didn’t fill with the curd.  Both, I thought were delicious and they did too.  Next time I’m filling them with some type of cream which are my favorites!  Have a delicious weekend!

xoxo

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

4 thoughts on “So Much To Do(nut)…

    1. Thank you, they were delish! And I thought it was…so is folding laundry – right?? And it happens, almost needs its own 12 step program! 😃

      Like

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

