Posted in Family, Home

“This has been the longest day of my life”

These were the words that came out of my daughter’s mouth this afternoon while we were out shopping for my better half’s birthday gifts.

Her hamster died this morning.  I was making the bed when I heard her and her sister talking.  I heard, “I have to warm him up, he’s so cold.”.  I took him from her and knew immediately he wasn’t going to make it.  I wrapped him up in his blue flowered blanket, tried to warm him up and just held him.  I kissed him and told him he could go and within 30 minutes he had.

She cried while trying to eat her waffles.  I hugged her.  She said she had to get ready for school.  She headed to pack her stuff before the bus came.  As she walked out the door, I told her, I’ll come pick you up of you want to come home.  Heaven knows how difficult it is to focus on anything in the wake of death.  And the death of a pet that you have loved and cared for and cuddled with can be massively devastating.  I’ve been there, more than once.

I picked her up before the first bell.  I took her shopping, took her to her favorite fast food place and to Baskin Robbins for a milkshake.  She did well, she kept her feelings in check, we even laughed on occasion.  Once we were heading home, she asked, what do you think happened?  I wish I knew.  Tuesday he had a good report from the vet, today he’s no longer.  I wish I had all the answers and I wish I could fix what hurts, I wish I could bring him back.  This is the one and only draw back of loving God’s little creatures – any of them really.  It’s staggering to lose that unconditional love – even when they weigh less than a half pound.

Hug your pets, treat them like family and love them unconditionally.  You just never know when they’ll head for the rainbow bridge.

we love you – always
Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

