Stuffed Peppers

Good Morning! I’ve already started out the day in the kitchen, of course. I am trying my hand at bread sticks, compliments of Olive Garden. I’ve never ever played with yeast before, so this is a first. The recipe said to allow it to foam, it didn’t foam before I mixed it with the flour so I’m a little concerned I didn’t have the water hot enough. But it’s early enough in the day that if I have to try again I’ll have time!

Yesterday was a day of running. It was dark and gloomy out and at least some of my attitude reflected that. I did manage to dance, which always helps put a positive spin on things. I at least felt good all day because of it, but I do have to admit, I’m still reeling from the events of a couple months ago when our vet committed suicide. Each and every time I think of her (which I dare to say is at some point almost every day!), it saddens and confuses me. The better half has told me not to allow it to bother me, but I simply can’t help it. She was young (my age), had a business that I would assume was somewhat successful, she had children. I did hear that the reason she committed suicide was because her husband was going to file for divorce. No man is worth killing yourself over, or woman for that matter! It’s a permanent solution to a temporary problem…this is why one of my life’s motto’s is “take care of you”. You have value, probably more than you think and if you take your own life, you don’t really know who you’ll be affecting by doing so. I was just a random person and she had no real position in my life, but her death impacted me more than she could ever imagine, I’m sure. The entire situation upset me more than I even thought possible. She was, in all sense of the word, a stranger, I knew nothing about her other than what I read on her website. I did find out more about her after her death, but that was out of curiosity more than anything. I, in an very odd sense, feel guilty. Is that even remotely normal??

It had to be done, I can’t wallow in whatever this is, so I called a new vet and made an appointment. They were very kind and seemingly gentle with H. I appreciated that tremendously. He is a hamster and must go to the “dentist” every two months to have his tooth cut so he can eat. He just won’t chew on anything to grind it down on his own. He’s a stubborn and expensive lil guy, but he’s worth it, he’s just a sweetheart.

IMG_9103.jpg

I ate very little yesterday, a banana and yogurt for breakfast, some cucumber and Opa blue cheese for lunch AND of course, two glasses of wine around 2 p.m.. I made stuffed peppers for dinner. I even ate almost the entire pepper! Three years ago, I wouldn’t even have touched a pepper much less eaten it! I found the recipe in a weight watchers cookbook I have and figured, why not. The kids complained they didn’t like the pepper, the better half said there was too much rice, not enough meat, then on the heels of that comment, the kids then decided it was just too much rice. It was a no win situation. I did make Bosco sticks, so the kids at least had something to eat! Here’s the pepper recipe if you are so inclined!

IMG_9110.jpg

Stuffed Peppers

6 medium sized peppers
3/4 lb. ground round (I used 1.25 lbs. of ground sirloin)
1 3/4 c. finely chopped onion
1 clove garlic, minced
1 29 oz. can tomato sauce
1 1/2 c. cooked rice (I used brown rice)
1 t. marjoram
1 t. oregano
1/8 t. salt
1/4 t. pepper
1/4 c. plus 2 T. nonfat sour cream
(shredded colby & monterey & avocado, if you’d like – this was my own addition)

Cut off tops of peppers. Remove and discard seeds and membranes. Finely chop pepper tops, discarding stems; set chopped pepper aside. Cook pepper cups in boiling water to cover 5 minutes. Drain peppers and set aside.

Cook chopped green pepper, ground round, onion and garlic in a dutch oven over medium high heat 5 minutes, stirring until meat crumbles and vegetables are tender. Add tomato sauce and next 5 ingredients. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer uncovered, 6 minutes, stirring often.

Spoon meat mixture evenly into pepper cups; place in an 11×7″ baking dish. Add hot water to dish to depth of 1/2″. Bake, uncovered, at 350* for 20-25 minutes or until thoroughly heated. Spoon 1 tablespoon sour cream on each pepper before serving.

(I put a little shredded cheese on top and some mashed avocado on mine!)

The best part of this entire thing, I’m dropping the weight from the holidays and I’m not even hungry!  What a plus!!

(1/27/16: 157.8 -2.4)

2 responses

  1. Those peppers look delicious! Next time you use yeast you may wish to “proof” if first if you are not sure if the water is hot enough or your yeast is good. Just add a bit of sugar into the yeast and warm water and it should bubble up fairly quickly or you will need to get new yeast or your water temperature is off. Just a hint.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much for the tip!! And yes, it was the yeast! I went out and purchased new and the breadsticks turned out perfectly!!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

| a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

