A Southern Winter Evening

Yesterday I went to Wal-Mart to see what I could find in the way of “cheap” organic milk and here’s what I found.

IMG_9094.jpg

Like I said before, I don’t drink a lot of milk, but I did have to try 1/4 cup of this and…ohmygoodness, it tastes like butter. It’s absolutely delicious. Mind you, it’s all the fat of course, but man it’s good! It was $4.24 for a half gallon. Almost $10 for a gallon of milk is to me, absolutely ridiculous. I won’t be purchasing this type of milk on a consistent basis as I think it’s simply too expensive, but if you’re in the moooo-d for some delicious milk – I highly recommend it!

I had a desire to exercise yesterday…I really did, but, I didn’t, but I didn’t make any excuses either. I just didn’t exercise. I did eat fairly well, albeit I had 2 glasses of wine, but other than that, I behaved. I made 15 bean soup for the first time ever, added a couple smoked ham hocks and a package of Butterball Turkey Kielbasa sausage. It was great – and the best part, everyone ate it! The youngest only left the sausage, but she ate the actual soup! Put that in the “win” category! I made some good ole corn bread to go with it.

IMG_9058.JPG

15 Bean Soup with Ham Hocks & Sausage

2 smoked ham hocks
1 pkg. Hurst’s 15 Bean Soup
1 large onion, chopped
6 baby carrots, chopped
3 stalks celery, chopped
7 c. chicken broth (I used a 32 oz. box of Swanson broth + what I had left over in a box in the fridge, but the original recipe called for 6 cups)
2 bay leaves
1 14.5 oz. can Hunt’s fire roasted diced tomatoes
2 T. minced garlic
2 T. honey
salt & pepper to taste
1 13 oz. pkg. Butterball everyday Turkey Sausage Polska Kielbasa

I rinsed the beans, put them in a pot and soaked them overnight. In the morning, I rinsed the beans again and put them in my crock pot. I added all ingredients except the sausage. I cooked it on low for about 8-9 hours. Then I put the crock pot on warm, removed the meat from the hocks, removed the bay leaves and added the sausage and meat pulled from the hocks. I kept the crock pot on warm until we ate at 4 p.m. They were a little more done than what they probably should have been, but tasty all the same!
The recipe was adapted using these two recipes:
Get Crocked 15 Bean Soup & Hurst’s 15 Bean Soup

IMG_9060.jpg

Creamy Cornbread

1 pkg. Jiffy corn muffin mix
1 8.25 oz. creamed corn
1/4 c. light sour cream
2 eggs
1/4 c. colby & cheddar jack shredded cheese

Preheat oven to 400*, grease an 8×8 baking dish. Combine ingredients, pour into dish and bake 15-20 minutes or until golden brown.

This recipe was adapted from the recipe found here.

Great dinner for a cold winter evening!

xoxo

(1/26/16: 160.2 -.5)

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

