Welcome to 2016!

 

Our Christmas was yesterday since the girls were gone for the real Christmas.  We made them wait till we could all be together.  We combined Christmas & New Year’s dinners, had family over, opened gifts and somewhat reflected on the last year.  Ok, me – not really because I basically cooked and cleaned all day long.  I’m not complaining by any means because I loved every minute of it, it makes me feel quite productive.  Plus they say food equals love, so it was a day filled with love – fattening, buttery and sugary ladened love!

img_8347

We had our traditional prime rib with balsamic mushrooms with bernaise sauce, mashed potatoes with green onions & cheese (I was too lazy to fry bacon), momma made the black eyed peas, collard/turnip greens and I made some cornbread. For dessert I made rugelah, banana spilt trifle and homemade cream puffs!  Man I love those things!!  I did well, I managed to eat only 3 so I wouldn’t seem like a complete pig!

dsc_0018

We opened gifts after dinner.  I received the most wonderful homemade gifts from the girls – a taggie pillow and a painted silhouette of a bird on a branch.  (I had to beg for that one, but I won.  LOL)  The better half had me loads of surprises, even though we’d already had our Christmas!!  An air fryer, my snoopy sheets, my konmari tidy up book I wanted, my 21 day fix stuff!  So exciting!!  Can’t wait to use it all!

Enjoyed having the in-laws over, they’re always fun.  It was a lovely beginning to a brand new year.  I am truly blessed.

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

Around Indy

Indianapolis and Indiana Press Releases and News Articles

Chaotic Shapes

Art and Lifestyle by Brandon Knoll

Sew Dashing llc.

Made locally

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Between the Pages

| a lovely place to be

My Meals are on Wheels

Life and Cooking from a Wheelchair

