Posted in Food

Grilled Flank Steak with Corn & Bacon Salad

I picked up Michael Symon’s 5 in 5 Cookbook at the grocery store the other day.  I was flipping through it and it just so happened I had purchased a flank steak recently!  Perfect timing to find this recipe!  I fired up the grill and off I went!

Grilled Flank Steak with Corn & Bacon Salad

2 lbs. flank steak
Kosher salt & freshly ground pepper
4 T. olive oil
1/2 lb. thick cut bacon, diced
4 ears of sweet corn, kernels cut from the cobs (about 3 cups)
Pinch of red pepper flakes
2 T. sherry vinegar
2 cups loosely packed arugula
1 small red onion, thinly sliced

Preheat grill or grill pan to medium high heat.  Season the steak on both sides with salt and black pepper.  Drizzle with 3 T. of olive oil, put on the grill and cover.  Cover and cook until nicely charred and the meat releases from the grill, about 3 minutes.  Flip and cook until medium-rare about 2 minutes.

Meanwhile, put a large skillet over medium high heat.  Add the remaining 1 T. olive oil and bacon, cook until almost crisp, about 2 minutes.  Don’t drain the fat.  Add the corn and cook for 2 minutes.  Add the red pepper flakes and 1/2 cup water and deglaze the pan, scraping with a wooden spoon to get up the browned bits from the bottom of the pan.  Stir in vinegar.  Taste and adjust seasoning, adding salt & pepper as needed.

Remove steak and slice against grain.  Top with corn and bacon, arugula and onion and serve.

(I cooked the flank steak perfectly on the grill, it was so tender and juicy.  I didn’t use olive oil, I only used 1 T. light butter when I cooked the bacon, simply to cut the fat content.  I didn’t have any sherry vinegar so I used red wine vinegar instead, I thought it was tasty, and I didn’t add the arugula.  The only thing I would do differently is I would drain the fat from the bacon, it just created too much fat for me.)

Definitely a keeper!  Thanks Michael!

Find Michael Symon’s 5 in 5 here!

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

