Posted in Home, Photography

The Wren Is In

 

I can not even begin to tell you how excited I am!! Today’s been one of those days that I have just wanted to curl up and sleep – and did, on the couch with my head in BH’s lap.  I woke up at 3:30 a.m. and of course, picked up my cell phone and then couldn’t go back to sleep.

The entire day so far has been spent eating, watching T.V. and being lazy. We did somehow manage to drive to Home Depot to pick out some paint and countertop samples, which for me is always exciting when the prospect of making our home nicer comes along!

A few minutes ago, I was standing in our mud room trying to match the paint to the counter sample I liked, I opened the blinds to the back door.

Finally, after 5 years of thinking I’d never be fortunate enough to have another voyeuristic relationship with a wren like I did in Maryland – there she was. Right there in that half dead tree that I just mentioned cutting down and replacing, in that birdhouse that’s been hanging there vacant. I couldn’t be more excited. I can’t wait until we have babies!

Wrens are, without question, some of the most awesome little birds.  They are unmistakable in the way they move, sound and parent.  They are so much fun to watch.  If you are lucky enough to have one around, take some time to study them.  They really are some of nature’s best!  Here are a couple photos I took.  She was so excited working on her soon to be nest.  She flew up on top of the house and started singing.  I’m guessing I’ll be hanging on to this half dead tree a while longer.

 

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

