Posted in Food

Sunday Supper – Lemon Chicken

Lemon Chicken

4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts (about 1 1/4 lbs.)
1/2 c. flour
salt & pepper
4 T. butter
1 c. chicken broth
1/4 c. lemon juice
1 T. cornstarch
2 green onions
1 freshly sliced lemon

Place each chicken piece between two pieces of plastic wrap and pound lightly until 1/4″ thick.  Remove plastic wrap.

Salt & pepper each breast, then coat with flour.

In a large skillet, cook chicken in hot butter over medium heat until chicken is tender and no longer pink, turning once.  Remove chicken from skillet and keep warm.

In a small bowl, stir together chicken broth, lemon juice and cornstarch.  Add to skillet.  Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly.  Cook and stir for 2 minutes more.  Stir in green onions, serve chicken with sauce and add lemon slices for garnish.

I placed the chicken back into the sauce and let it cook on low for a few more minutes.  I like my chicken cooked thoroughly!

I served it with asparagus in butter, lemon & parmesan and long grain & wild rice.

I’d give this meal an 8.  I use Land O’ Lakes Light Butter, just to cut some calories (the nutritional information is with real butter).  Also, I’m used to lemon chicken having a sweet taste to it, this isn’t.  However, once dinner was finished, I took the leftover sauce and added a little Stevia to it…I liked it better.  Turned it into an A!

Calories: 333, Fat: 13g, Carbohydrates: 16g, Protein: 34g.

Author:

A work in progress, always trying to better myself and find my purpose.

Comments/Thoughts/Ideas?

